Uncovering corruption: The role of investigative journalism in combatting environmental crime

Investigative journalists are often the first to uncover corruption in locations with limited enforcement or low rule of law. This is particularly true in environmental sectors that tend to be low priorities for law enforcement and governments. These professionals also bring skills and relationships to bear that can shed light on corruption in natural resource management (NRM). Join us for a TNRC Virtual Panel to discuss how investigative journalists approach investigations in environmental sectors to uncover corruption, and how NRM practitioners and journalists can cooperate, inform and learn from each other, particularly in settings where corruption makes it less desirable to report to government. Experts will share their stores, experience, and best practices for being effective in spite of corrupt environments. Click here for full speaker bios and more information

March 11, 2021 9am - 10:30am Washington, DC 2pm - 3:30pm Cambridge, UK 5pm - 6:30pm Nairobi, Kenya 9pm - 10:30pm Bangkok, Thailand

Click Here to Register


Andrea Crosta, Executive Director and Board Member, Earth League International


Giannina Segnini, Director of the Master of Science Data Journalism Program, Columbia University Journalism School


Khadija Sharife, Senior Editor, Africa, OCCRP


Dr. Louise Shelley, Director, Terrorism, Transnational Crime and Corruption Center, and Professor, Schar School of Policy and Government, George Mason University (Moderator)


35 views0 comments